missing hands

the warmth of my mother’s palm on my head

brushing the whole sadness off

your fingers on my skin

tickling and curiously discovering

impatiently

and arms I can safely fall asleep in

missing is not a state of mind

it’s real

it’s physical

like a touch

DSC_0043_0270

~ by mona on March 20, 2013.

2 Responses to “missing hands”

  1. This poem is so sweet and poignant! It vibrates with emotion. Thank you!

  2. thank you very much John. I’ve written it about a year ago dealing with a loss of my mother

Leave a Reply

 
