Lyon

Lyon- the city of secret alleyways, courtyards and hidden passageways known as traboules.

Lyon- the perfect city for the food lovers, with variety of the restaurants, cafes, bars, bistros, famous Lyonnais bouchons. I can truly recommend a friendly Café Comptoir Fréres Barbet where I had one of the best steaks ever and the chef’s specialty… the cow’s tits as a starter… Let’s say I was in an experimental mood. It was delicious by the way…

 

There is more to it: the galleries, music festivals, mountain biking and wine drinking- with the Beaujolais and the Côte du Rhône vineyards practically on Lyon’s doorstep. So if you are interested in a contemporary art then the MAC Lyon is the place for you (I’ve seen an amazing, retrospective exhibition of Robert Combas works in there)

Although Lyon makes a great holiday destination my reason to be there was closely linked to UK… Manchester exactly, Ian Brown and The Stone Roses– more precisely- their show as a part of Les Nuits de Fourvière Festival which took place in a roman amphitheater. It was one of the best concerts I’ve been to. I love the Stone Roses but the place, acoustics of the amphitheater, the atmosphere just made it unforgettable and I think Mr Brown felt it himself as it was so far his best performance I’ve experienced. I have to add  earlier on in the festival, Manchester United football legend Eric Cantona joined former Clash man Mick Jones onstage for a rendition of the band’s 1982 single ‘Should I Stay Or Should I Go‘. That was like a cherry on the cake!

~ by mona on March 16, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
